My Blog

My Blog



February 27, 2014

WHERE COURAGE CALLS by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan

A When Calls The Heart Novel
Janette Oke
Laurel Oke Logan
Janette Oke's newest book, Where Courage Calls 
(co-written with her daughter, Laurel Oke Logan),
 is receiving rave reviews.
 It is the companion story to Hallmark Channel's TV series When Calls the Heart,
 set in the Canadian west.


Janette and Laurel are celebrating
 with an iPad Mini giveaway
and a
 Facebook author chat party on March 4th.

One winner will receive:
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below.
 But hurry, the giveaway ends on March 4th. 
 Winner will be announced at the Where Courage Calls Facebook Party on March 4th. 
 Connect with Janette and Laurel for an evening of book chat, trivia, laughter, and more!

So grab your copy of Where Courage Calls and join Janette and Laurel 
on the evening of March 4th for a chance to connect and make some new friends.
 (If you haven't read the book, don't let that stop you from coming!)


Don't miss a moment of the fun; RSVP today  by clicking JOIN on the event page.Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER  and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 4th!


Her courage and her heart will be tested in ways she never expected…
Beth Thatcher has spent her entire life in the safe, comfortable world of her family, her friends, and the social outings her father’s wealth provides. But Beth is about to leave it all behind to accept a teaching position in the rugged foothills of western Canada. Inspired by her aunt Elizabeth, who went west to teach school several years ago, and gently encouraged by her father, Beth resolves to put her trust in God and bravely face any challenge that comes her way.
But the conditions in Coal Valley are even worse than she’d feared. A recent mining accident has left the town grieving and at the mercy of the mining company. The children have had very little prior education, and many of the locals don’t even speak English. There isn’t even a proper schoolhouse. In addition, Beth’s heart is torn between two young men–both Mounties, one a lifelong friend and the other a kind, quiet man who comes to her aid more than once.
Despite the many challenges, Beth is determined to make a difference in the rustic frontier town. But when her sister visits from the East, reminding her of all the luxuries she’s had to give up, will Beth decide to return to her privileged life as soon as the school year is over?
Janette Oke**Janette Oke**Janette Oke writes with a profound simplicity of what she knows best—real life, honest love, and lasting values. With over 23 million in sales, her historical novels portray the lives of early North American settlers from many walks of life and geographical settings. She also writes engaging children's stories and inspiring gift books that warm the heart.Janette was born during the depression years to a Canadian prairie farmer and his wife, and she remembers her childhood as full of love and laughter and family love. After graduating from Mountain View Bible College in Canada where she met her husband, Edward, they pastored churches in Canada and the U.S., and they raised their family of four children, including twin boys, in both countries. Edward eventually became president of Mountain View Bible College and recently established a coalition of colleges that became Rocky Mountain Bible College. Celebrated for her significant contribution to the Christian book industry, Janette Oke is the recipient of numerous awards. Her novels have sold more than 30 million copies and are beloved by readers around the world. Janette lives with her husband, Edward, in Alberta, Canada. Find out more about Janette at Her website is at

**Laurel Oke Logan**, is the daughter of Edward and Janette Oke, is the author of “Janette Oke: A Heart for the Prairie,” as well as the novel “Dana’s Valley,” which she co-wrote with her mom. Laurel and her husband have six children and two sons-in-law and live near Indianapolis, Indiana.

The main character is Elizabeth Thatcher. She was from the East and a family that was quite wealthy. She wasn't totally happy with being the pride of society.  She needed more.  She learned to teach and went out West after getting a teaching position in an isolated mountain town of miners. This position was only for one year and then she would go back home.
Her trip back West to Coal Valley didn't go well.  All of her belongings were stolen and she lost some very cherished items that her father had given her.  Among the things stolen were the books for her teaching. Edward was her traveling companion and he was responsible for her luggage. Being a Royal Canadian Mounted Policeman, he wasn't very responsible.
Beth arrived to some very bad living, run down houses, out houses, hardly any stores and deep forests surrounding the town.  But Beth was willing to have a go at it.  She lived in the boarding house and her classroom was in a building that used to be a saloon.  She had faith and knew God was with her.
Beth was a giver, willing to help anyone in need.  That can sometimes lead to trouble. I found this book to be so loving. It makes you feel like Beth and all in Coal Valley were your friends. The authors wrote with such compassion and love. The authors characterized Beth in such a charming way.  I  felt like she would be every reader's sweetheart.  the author's wrote a wonderful book that takes the reader into Beth's world as she goes from the wealthy family into a mining town of a different world. I would recommend this to any reader who loves stories about the West and how  one woman made such a difference. This is definitely a keeper and a book to be read and re-read.

I would give this book 4 VIOLINS. Violin Clip Art     Violin  Clip Art       Violin Clip ArtBrown Violin Clip Art

I was given a complimentary copy of WHERE COURAGE CALLS by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan from Litfuse Publicity for my honest opinion.  No other compensation took place.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published February 4th 2014
Bethany House Publishers
(first published January 28th 2014)
ISBN 0764212311
 (ISBN13: 9780764212314)

No comments: