My Blog

My Blog



November 16, 2016



An Inspector David Goldman Cozy Mystery
Volume I
Alison Golden
Grace Dagnall
The Case of the Screaming Beauty (An Inspector David Graham Cozy Mystery Book 1)

  • Series: An Inspector David Graham Cozy Mystery
  • Paperback: 156 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (October 31, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1514750961
  • ISBN-13: 978-1514750964

The prestigious Lavender Bed and Breakfast in Chiddlinghurst, England has a rich, Tudor atmosphere, an enviously manicured lawn… And a deadly problem.

A young, beautiful woman, Norah Travis, has been found murdered in one of the rooms with no witnesses and seemingly no motive. Detective Inspector Graham, a man with a singular drive, a penchant for tea, and silent demons of his own, has been brought in to ferret out the perpetrator. Joining Sergeant Harris at the sprawling estate, the duo set their caps to solving a mystery that leaves them frustrated.
It’s a “whodunit” of crafty design with suspects on all sides and nothing clear cut. The proprietors, Amelia and Cliff, have jokes to share and almost nothing to hide, while their long time guest, Tim, seems shiftier. There is an ex-husband, a housekeeper, an old man, and questions galore. But who could it be? It’s a conundrum.
The Case of the Screaming Beauty is a modern murder mystery with an old fashioned feel; a story for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie, and CSI. Enjoy!

Interview with the Creator of the series

Q – So, what makes the Inspector David Graham series special?
A – When I set out to write these books, I wanted to create something that played like a movie in the reader’s mind. They are books with action, but also soul. They are ensemble pieces containing regular characters that are well drawn with strong personalities, humor and some tragedy. The Inspector David Graham books feel, to me, like good friends that never let me down. Every time we sit down to plan the books, I love to find out what the characters are going to get up to next!
The Inspector David Graham books are a great mix of genres. They sit firmly in the cozy mystery category and are set on the beautiful island of Jersey in the English Channel between Britain and France. They feature a British detective who is part-Sherlock Holmes, part-Poirot, and, of course, uniquely himself.
Q – In what order should I read the books?
The Inspector David Graham cozy mysteries can be read, and enjoyed, in any order. The Case of the Screaming Beauty is a prequel to the other books in the series and, unlike the later books, is set on the mainland. All the books are complete mysteries.
I’ve made sure not to include any spoilers for those who are new to the characters and any existing fans of Graham’s adventures will still find plenty of fresh action and mystery as well as perhaps a few answers. All in all, there is something for everyone. The events in this prequel take place a few weeks before The Case of the Hidden Flame, the first book in the Inspector David Graham series of cozy mysteries.
If you do want to read them in order, I'd suggest the following sequence:

  • The Case of the Screaming Beauty (prequel)
  • The Case of the Hidden Flame
  • The Case of the Fallen Hero (coming soon)

  • Q – Why should readers give these books a try?
    A – Because the Inspector Graham series is a gentle, but colorful romp through the wealthy but isolated English island, a place that is picturesque and peaceful but one filled with amoral and snobbish eccentrics with all kinds of vices.
    Graham is a complex character who is intriguing from the get-go and yet evolves throughout the series while his sidekicks are worthy, interesting characters in their own right. We feature many English countryside rituals, institutions and customs in these stories.
    Thanks for reading!
    Inspector David Graham Book Categories

  • Cozy Mysteries
  • Mystery Series
  • British Detectives
  • Small Town Mysteries
  • Humorous Cozy Mysteries
  • Traditional British
  • International Mystery and Crime


    Alison Golden Alison Golden was born and raised in Bedfordshire, England. She writes cozy mysteries and suspense novels, along with the occasional witty blog post, all of which are designed to entertain, amuse, and calm. Her approach is to combine creative ideas with excellent writing and edit, edit, edit.

    Alison is the creator of the Reverend Annabelle Dixon cozy mysteries, a charming, fun series featuring a female vicar ministering in the beautiful county of Cornwall, England. She also produces a Jersey-based detective series featuring Inspector David Graham and the Diana Hunter series, set in Vancouver.

    Her books' themes range from the humorous and sweet to harder hitting suspense. They are recommended for readers who like to relax and unwind with their books, who enjoy getting to know the characters, and who prefer the tougher side of life implied.

    Alison is based in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband and twin sons. She splits her time traveling between London and San Francisco.

    To receive three free books, updates about new releases, exclusive promotions, and other insider information, sign up for the Cozy Mysteries Insider mailing list at:

     Cozy Mysteries are always fun to try and figure out.   This book is the prequel featuring David Graham, Inspector. As I read the book I thought I knew why the murder was committed but for the life of me I couldn't figure out who did it.  The pace was steady and the characters were described without going into a bunch of unnecessary detail.  Not a lot of unnecessary details.  From the beginning the story was interesting with a young woman found in an English B&B, dead.Enters the Detective Inspector, young, good looking and ambitious but he had his own problems.  The book is cleanly written without sex, blood and gore.   No foul language either.   The Detective Inspector found no clues to help in the investigation. I was completely surprised when the murderer was revealed.   The book was well written and didn't weigh you down.   I read it in one sitting and was ready for Book Two when I finished it. If you like cozy murder mysteries than you will like this Book One in the series.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author and Cozy Mystery Insiders and voluntarily decided to review it.

    I would give this book 4 STARS. 


    No comments: