My Blog

My Blog



September 18, 2014



Product Details
Coming October 28th, 2014

Playful Bride's Series
Book Two

Valerie Bowman

For seven long years, Lady Cassandra Monroe has waited for the man of her dreams to return from the war.  Unfortunately, he happens to be engaged to her flighty cousin.  What Cass wouldn't give to take her cousin's place! When he mistakes Cass for Patience Bunbury, a fictitious friend her cousin has invented to escape social obligations...even with her future husband, Cass thinks this is her chance.
After defeating Napoleon at Waterloo, Captain Julian Swift is not quite ready to settle down and enter into his unwanted arranged marriage—especially when the real object of his affection turns out to be a beguiling beauty he meets at a party. Patience Bunbury is witty, independent, passionate…and, unbeknownst to him, the cousin of his current fiancĂ©e. When the truth about Cass comes out—and Julian discovers that their courtship is anything but accidental—will he surrender his heart to a woman who really is too good to be true?

About the Author

Valerie BowmanValerie Bowman grew up in Illinois with six sisters (she’s number seven) and a huge supply of historical romance novels. After a cold and snowy stint earning a degree in English with a minor in history at Smith College, she moved to Florida the first chance she got. Valerie now lives in Jacksonville with her family including her rascally dog, Roo. When she’s not writing, she keeps busy reading, traveling, or vacillating between watching crazy reality TV and PBS. Valerie loves to hear from readers. Find her on Facebook, Twitter, and her website. Valerie Bowman is an award-winning author who writes Regency-set historical romance novels aka Racy Regency Romps!

Valerie's debut novel, SECRETS OF A WEDDING NIGHT, is the first in the Secret Brides series. Book two, SECRETS OF A RUNAWAY BRIDE, was released March 26, 2013 and SECRETS OF A SCANDALOUS MARRIAGE was released Oct 1, 2013. A SECRET PROPOSAL, a related novella, was released 1/1/13. A Secret Affair was released 7/1/2013. The final story in the Secret Brides series, It Happened Under the Mistletoe, A Christmas Novella, was released 10/29/2013.

She is hard at work on a new series based on famous romp plays. The Playful Brides series consists of The Unexpected Duchess (May 2014), The Accidental Countess (November 2014), and The Unlikely Lady (May 2015).

The book was a sassy and witty read. I thought the author put too much time that Lady Monroe had waited for the man of her dreams.  He was in the war. I thought the little touch of the Lady's flighty cousin being married to the man of her dreams was a great touch.  The cousin has invented a fictitious friend, Patience Bunbury.  Like a little child with their imaginary friend. He  thinks that Cass is Patience.  Cass figures this may be her chance to win her man of her dreams. When Captain Swift returns he is in an unwanted arranged marriage but when he goes to a party , he finds his real love. He believes she is Patience, not Cass.  She is a raving beauty and he just can't resist.  When the secret comes out, will Julian turn away or go for what is really too good to be true.?  The author wrote a wonderful romance with suspense, secrets, mistaken identity and wrote it in a way that you could follow.  You didn't get confused as to what was going on.  This was a very good read and I'd recommend it to anyw\one who loves romance with some added twists and turns and SECRETS.

I was given a complimentary copy of THE ACCIDENTAL COUNTESS from the author Valerie Bowman and NightOwlReviews for my view of the book. No other compensation took place.

I would give this book 4 STARS.

Visit Valerie on the web at
Twitter: @ValerieGBowman
Sign up for her newsletter at or go here:

No comments: