My Blog

My Blog



August 7, 2017

DONNA by V.C.Andrews

Donna (The Girls of Spindrift Book 2) by [Andrews, V.C.]

The Girls of Spindrift
Book Two

  • Number: B01MFEYUJP
  • Release: August 14, 2017
  • Author: V.C. Andrews
  • Genre: Teen
  • Tags: * Young Adult, * Susp: Action / Thriller
  • Publisher: Pocket Star
Book Two of the Girls of Spindrift. From the New York Times bestselling author of the Flowers in the Attic and My Sweet Audrina series, now Lifetime movies, continues a haunting new series featuring highly intelligent teenage girls who struggle to survive a specialized high school and find their place in a world that doesn’t understand them. Such is the burden of being brilliant. Being gifted is not something Donna ever wanted. It’s difficult enough to have a Latino father and Irish mother, and her genius only separates her even more from the other girls. They don’t say it, but they blame her for everything that goes wrong, just because she’s different. And on the precise day she tries her hardest to fit in, everything turns out a disaster. A fight breaks out, and somehow Donna ends up in the middle. It’s not her fault, but it’s her word against theirs, and this time, the other girls aren’t going to stay quiet. The only solution might be to escape to the mysterious school her counselor is telling her about: Spindrift. The four Girls of Spindrift novellas together form a prequel for Bittersweet Dreams—available now!  (from Night Owl Reviews)


One of the most popular authors of all time, V.C. Andrews has been a bestselling phenomenon since the publication of Flowers in the Attic, first in the renowned Dollanganger family series which includes Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, Seeds of Yesterday, and Garden of Shadows. The family saga continues with Christopher’s Diary: Secrets of Foxworth, Christopher’s Diary: Echoes of Dollanganger, and Secret Brother. V.C. Andrews has written more than seventy novels, which have sold more than 106 million copies worldwide and been translated into twenty-five foreign languages. Join the conversation about the world of V.C. Andrews at Books published under the following names - Virginia Andrews, V. Andrews, Virginia C. Andrews & V.C. Endrius. Books since her death ghost written by Andrew Neiderman, but still attributed to the V.C. Andrews name

 This is the second book in the Spindrift Series. Book One was Corliss, both written by VC Andrews. The story runs at a good clip and suspense builds as the pages are turned.  Your heart will begin to hurt for Donna.  Donna is attending high school and is above intelligent.  That makes it hard  for her to fit in with those around her.   She wanted nothing more than to be accepted for who she was. Spindrift is a school that Donna will soon be attending. Her parents think she needs to learn to stay out of trouble. 

The author gives us a character that you feel you know and I love reading about her growth as the pages turn.  She has one friend, a true friend.  When Greg is faced with trouble because of her, she must decide what is best to do to save Greg. The turmoil Donna goes through feels real. You can always relate to characters that have a real, true being to them.    Donna may make a connection with you since she is, in a way, a typical teenager with all the teenager problems.  You may have a teenager like her at home.  Donna is gifted and that is always hard to cope with.  You're different and yet, you want to be like everyone else.

I wanted the author to go more into what Donna was thinking, more about Donna's take on everything.   I did like that the author kept Donna as she was,  didn't try to change her even though she went through so much being who she was, super intelligent.   I guess it was a lesson, don't try to be someone you're not, and Donna didn't. Along with being gifted, Donna is of mixed heritage which can be a struggle in itself.  People are sometimes very cruel and unaccepting of anyone who is different in any way.  The story was good but I was left very curious about Spindrift.   I wanted more on exactly what this school was all about. The author  puts an air of mystery around the school and I loved that.  Another thing I liked was the setting.  It fit with the characters perfectly.  I read Corliss, the first book in the series and I think this second book only expands on the first..  I can't wait for what is next.  If you have read any of V.C. Andrews books, you already know how good they are.  The author engages you from the first page.  If you haven't read any of them, try this once and see what you think.

I received a copy of this book from the author and Night Owl Reviews and voluntarily decided to review it.

I would give this book  4 STARS. 

No comments: