My Blog

My Blog

DON'T LOOK BACK!

DON'T LOOK BACK!

April 16, 2016

THE ELOQUENCE OF THE DEAD by Conor Brady

THE ELOQUENCE OF THE DEAD
Joe Swallow Mystery
Book Two
by
Conor Brady

The Eloquence of the Dead
BOOK DETAILS
(from Night Owl Reviews)
  • Number: 9781250057570
  • Release: March 15, 2016
  • Author: Conor Brady
  • Availability: Print-Book
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: HIST: Historical Fiction, * SUSP: Mystery
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books

"Bodies can tell you a lot. There can be an eloquence about the dead. But you have to be able to interpret what they are telling you... " This captivating, expertly crafted mystery captures the life and essence of Victorian Dublin and draws the reader on a gripping journey of murder and intrigue. When a Dublin Pawnbroker is found murdered and the lead suspect goes missing, Sergeant Joe Swallow is handed the poisoned chalice of the investigation. On the way he uncovers deep-rooted corruption, discovers the power of new, scientific detection techniques and encounters a ruthless adversary. With authorities pressing for a quick resolution, the public living in fear of attack and the newspapers happy to point to the police's every mistake, Swallow must use every trick in his arsenal to crack the case. Following leads from Trim Castle to the Tower of London, The Eloquence of the Dead is a taut, fast-paced crime thriller perfect for fans of Charles Finch and Charles Todd.




ABOUT THE AUTHOR
CONOR BRADY is the former editor of The Irish Times. The Eloquence of the Dead is his second novel featuring Joe Swallow. He lives in Dublin.

REVIEW
SETTING: Dubin, 1887
This is Book Two in the Joe Swallow Series.  The books don't have to be read in sequence. Sargent Joe Swallow , hasn't had a promotion in a long time and isn't very happy, especially since he is the best they have. Now he's in the middle of a disappearance and a murder. How could a simple pawnbroker, Ambrose Pollock and his sister be involved so deep in a corruption situation that lead to his murder and her disappearance? This case could bring about chaos in the country. The author writes fairly good descriptions of the characters and the period. The thing is, there are so many words and phrases that I just plain didn't understand. I would have to sit and think about them before I could continue.  This interrupted my concentration of the story. Could just be me, but I got disinterested when I couldn't understand some of the words. I did like Swallow.  He seemed realistic and that you could relate to  him. The author gives you a little romance t hat could blossom into love.  I guess Book Three will let us know. Everybody likes different books and have different opinions.  This 3 STAR rating is my opinion and mine alone.  Get yourself a copy and try it for yourself.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author, Conor Brady and Night Owl Reviews in exchange for my unbiased view.

I would give this book 3 STARS. 

No comments: