My Blog

My Blog

DON'T LOOK BACK!

DON'T LOOK BACK!

September 11, 2014

THE MILL RIVER REDEMPTION by Darcie Chan

5 STARS


THE MILL RIVER REDEMPTION
by
Darcie Chan
Product Details

Let parents bequeath to their children not riches,
but the spirit of reverence
-PLATO 

INTRO
(from Amazon)
New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns to the enchanting town of Mill River in a heartwarming novel of family, self-discovery, and forgiveness. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.
 
Josie DiSanti is starting over. Recently widowed, she has fled her New York City home with her two young daughters—spirited Rose and shy Emily—in tow. She takes refuge in Mill River, Vermont, to live with her only remaining relative, Ivy Collard, the local bookstore owner and a woman Josie barely knows. There, the young mother and her girls build a new life for themselves—until a shocking tragedy tears the sisters apart.

Years later, Josie’s still-estranged daughters return to the quiet town for the reading of their mother’s will, which stipulates that they must work together to locate a hidden key to a safe-deposit box containing their inheritance. Even from the great beyond, it seems Josie will do anything to bring about her daughters’ reconciliation. Having no choice but to go along with their mother’s final wishes, Rose and Emily move back to Mill River for the summer to begin the search—discovering that, in the close-knit community known for magic and miracles, an even greater treasure awaits them.

Advance praise for The Mill River Redemption
 
“Darcie Chan paints a vivid and loving portrait of the kind of small town we all wished we lived in. This layered tale of two estranged sisters brought together by a mother’s love will make you laugh, cry, cheer, hug your loved ones a little tighter. An enchanting storyteller, Chan is one of those rare authors who make you feel more fully alive.”—Elizabeth Letts, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion

Praise for The Mill River Recluse

“Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”Kirkus Reviews
 
“A heartwarming story.”Examiner.com
 
“A real page-turner.”—IndieReader
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books; First Edition edition (August 26, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345538234
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345538239
 AUTHOR
Darcie ChanDarcie Chan is the New York Times bestselling author of the eBook sensation THE MILL RIVER RECLUSE and the novel THE MILL RIVER REDEMPTION.  She has been featured in The New York Times, USA Today and The Wall Street Journal.  For fourteen years, Chan worked as an attorney drafting environmental and natural resource legislation for the U.S. Senate.  She now writes fiction full time and lives north of New York City with her husband and son.

  REVIEW
Family Secrets, sisters, mothers, aunts and a bookstore.
Once I started reading this book, I couldn't stop.  It is a story that will warm your heart and sometimes, break your heart.  When there are conflicts in a family that no one will let go, someone has to step in to try to fix what went wrong years ago.  This is a book about the love of books that helped to start the reconciliation.  But did it actually happen.  Sometimes it takes a terrible thing to happen to start a reconciliation.  Somehow you forget yourself and the one you are at odds with and you think of the one who is hurt and possibly could die.
The story starts as Josie DiSantis' husband was killed in a fire in New York.    Josie and her two girls return to her roots at Mill River.  She moved in with an aunt she barely knew.  The author wrote about a town that we all would love to live in, quiet, small, a place where everyone tried to help anybody in need. I would have loved to have grown up in such a town, married and raised my kids and lived my years till the end.
Josie's two daughters were always  very close until something happened that tore them apart and they found it hard to even be civil after that.
Even after the girls, Rose and Emile were grown and on their own, Josie tried to get them to reconcile.  She spent most of her life and death working her hardest on t his.  She had a plan, but would it work.  The author wrote a wholesome, heart warming story with characters could have been your family or neighbor.  The story very well could have  been a story about any reader.  Maybe even you?  The author gave the reader a book that made you want to be a part of every body's lives in Mill River.

I was given a complimentary copy of THE MILL RIVER REDEMPTION from the author, Darcie Chan and Night Owl Reviews for my view of the book.  No other compensation took place.

I would give this book 5 STARS.


LINKS




 

No comments: