My Blog

My Blog



May 29, 2014

A SEASON OF CHANGE by Lynette Sowell


Seasons in Pinecraft Series
Book One
by Lynette Sowell


(from Litfuse)
An Amish widower finds love in unexpected places.
Amish widower Jacob Miller believes it was a mistake to visit the Amish village of Pinecraft for winter vacation, especially after his daughter is struck by a car. Stranded in Sarasota until his daughter recovers, Jacob grows increasingly wary of events that unfold in his unfamiliar surroundings---including the strange curiosity of Englischer Natalie Bennett.
Natalie never thought her circus career as an aerial silks artist would end with a blown-out knee at the age of 25. She also never knew her late mother had a secret---that she was once Amish.
When Natalie meets the Millers at the Sarasota hospital, she is attracted to their warm hospitality and simple ways---and soon wonders if they can help her find her mother's family. As Jacob and Natalie fall in love, their worlds collide. Will their differences tear them apart? Or will their love be strong enough to blend their clashing cultures?
Lynette Sowell is the Carol Award-winning and ECPA best-selling author of more than 15 titles, including A Season of Change and Tempest's Course. When Lynette is not writing, she works as a medical editor and part-time newspaper reporter. She makes her home in Copperas Cove on the doorstep of the Texas hill country. 

Seasons of Pinecraft Series:
A Season of Change
A Path Made Plain (Fall 2014)
A Promise of Grace (Spring 2015)
"What happens in Pinecraft, stays in Pinecraft"
(from the book)
The is not your typical love story.
We have two main characters: We have Jacob, who's wife and newborn son has died and he is floundering in the his world trying to find peace while taking care of his two children.   He has so many questions, but they are not the questions that an Old Order Amish man should ask.  As with the Amish beliefs, courting and remarrying should come after a short bereavement.  He is constantly being pressured to remarry.  But Jacob doesn't just want to marry anyone, he wants to marry for Love.  He decides to get away for a while and takes his two children to Pinecraft, Florida. (real town)
Our second character is Natalie Bennett known as Bubbles the Clown.  She is also searching for her own way.  She is Englisch.  She has lost her mother and her father has a new family and doesn't really have time for Natalie.  One day she receives an unusual box from her father, that sends Natalie on a search for answers about the contents of the box.  She ends up in Pinecraft.  Is this place her future or her past?
When you read Amish books, I get the feeling that they don't question, they just follow and do. In this book, we have characters that are questioning things in their lives.  They know it isn't right to ask but we have characters here that do ask.
Jacob and Natalie want to follow God's will.
Will Jacob and Natalie end up together or will Jacob marry for convenience, not Love?
We have two people who cannot and will not ask the other to give up their world.  Will there be a compromise?
This book is set aside from other Amish reads in my opinion.  It approaches Amish life in a different way.  It goes against some of their beliefs and ways.  Nice change.  Another wonderful Amish book to add to any one's collection.  I know it is on my shelf.
I would hope that anyone who loves a good Amish book or just a book that takes a different outlook on  the Amish ways, to get a copy and read it.  You will find yourself engaged in Jacob and Natalie's worlds.

I was given a copy of A SEASON OF CHANGE by Lynette Sowell from Litfuse Publicity Tours for my view of the book. No other compensation took place.

I would give this book a solid 5 FLOWERS.


purchase a copy at:

No comments: